Life at CSW (the Cambridge School of Weston)

Updated: Feb 8

As I said in my previous blog, Galit, my Hermiona tutor, was the person who helped me to decide to attend my school. She told me that at CSW (Cambridge School of Weston), I will be able to try out many different academic disciplines and participate in various school-wide contests and competitions. But there were also other factors that made me prefer CSW over Cushing (Cushing Academy).


The main reason was that Cushing, despite all its a

dvantages, is a very traditional boarding school with a focus on sports. It seemed to me that its traditions do not differ much from those of other schools -- education-wise or in any other respect. CSW, however, has a very unusual education system that Galit told me about. For 5-6 weeks in a row, I have 3 main classes which last 1.5 hours each, which I go to every day, in addition to 1-2 additional classes of an hour each, held on different days. After 5-6 weeks, when the module (“mod”) ends, the classes change, but some, such as languages ​​and math, can last for more than 1 module. In total, I have 4 classes per day, and I also have the opportunity to hone in on and study only these subjects, which I think is very convenient for students. Thanks to this program, I have already completed 7 subjects, including French, which you study for 3 modules, and 3 additional subjects - Pilates, yoga, and Japanese cooking. A large number of subjects helps to find what you like to do, and what you like to study the most.


My decision was also influenced by the fact that only 30% of students at CSW live on campus, so about 70-80 people. This is a definite plus for me, because a small number of people on campus make it a convenient place for everyone. It is, of course, possible to make friends with day students and visit them and learn about how American teenagers really live.


Another important factor is the proximity to Boston -- 20-30 minutes by car to downtown, which allows you to travel on weekends on your own or by school shuttles to visit museums and parks or just to take a walk with friends.


At the moment, after 4 months, I can confidently say that I am very happy with my choice!

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle

Moscow office 8 (800) 100-5458

Boston office +1 (617) 544-7020

All rights reserved.